Subscriber login Close [x]
remember me
You are not logged in.

CAWG takes on European wines

Published:  23 July, 2008

The California Association of Winegrape Growers (CAWG) declares the state an "independent nation."

California's spans more than 100 American viticultural areas (AVAs) and six diverse winegrowing states: North Coast, Sierra Foothills, San Joaquin Valley, Sacramento Valley, Central Coast and South Coast.

The diversity of soil and microclimates means that winegrowers can grow more than 50 varietals of wines, including Chardonnays, Zinfandels, full-bodied Cabernet Sauvignons, Tempranillo, Grenache and Mourvedre.

Arnold Schwarzenegger, California governor, recently proclaimed September the state's wine month.

Visit for more information.