• You are here:Home
  • Opinion

Digital Edition

The Harpers digital edition is available days ahead of the printed magazine. Don’t miss out, make sure you subscribe today.

Subscribers can access the digital edition as part of their subscription. Log in to view the latest edition.

Digital edition Subscribe

Agnes Heller shares her musical insights ahead of Skin Contact gig

Inter-Rhône's Agnès Heller lives the rock n' roll dream with Skin Côntact

27 Feb 2015 | By Claret Pimpernel

With little more than a week to go before Skin Côntact, the wine trade’s first ever rock band, take to the stage at London’s Vinopolis to help raise money for Comic Relief we turn to those resonsible for making it happen - the sponsors.

More from Uncorked

Richard Siddle, editor and chief, of Harpers Wine & Spirit

Richard Siddle: why Tesco's product cull will impact everyone in the trade

06 Feb 2015 | Updated: 06 Feb 2015 | By Richard Siddle

Here are a few questions for you? Do you work with any of the major supermarkets? If so do you ever take a close look at what is happening in any other aisle of the store other than wine and spirits?  I mean do you assess how a particular category like confectionery, health and beauty or crisps and snacks is merchandised?  How many suppliers in that fixture that retailer works with? What sort of promotions they are running? If you don’t then you need to.

More from Harpers Says...

Start your own blog on Harpers.co.uk

Not only post up your latest comments and opinions but build up a back library of articles for colleagues and members of the trade to search for online. All you have to do is commit to writing a blog at least once every three weeks. Be prepared to have your work edited by the Harpers team - and if you dish criticism out, then be prepared to take it in return!

Start Blogging!

Jerry Lockspeiser

Jerry Lockspeiser on why crowdfunding is such an exciting opportunity for business

13 Feb 2015 | By Jerry Lockspeiser

Why is crowdfunding so inherently exciting? The heady emotional mix of allure, participation, open access, opportunity, creativity and success is hard to resist.

Tim Atkin

Tim Atkin MW: What we can all learn from the failure of Vinopolis Subscription

06 Feb 2015 | By Tim Atkin

Is it really 16 years since Vinopolis opened its doors to the public? I can clearly remember the hoopla and sense of anticipation that accompanied the launch of London’s self-styled “premier wine-tasting experience and visitor attraction”.

Guy Woodward @guyawoodward

Guy Woodward: Why the UK trade needs to turn its back on overpriced Bordeaux Subscription

06 Feb 2015 | By Guy Woodward

I saw a headline the other day that grabbed my attention. “Hopes rise for Bordeaux prices in 2015”. Ah, I thought, that’s good – they’re coming down at last.

Comments (1)

More from Columnists

Discovering the region of Castilla-La Mancha

26 Feb 2015 | By Marisa D'Vari

The quality of the wines were all very good, and well balanced. The labels were also interesting to behold, as some reflected the traditional Spanish label, while others were almost new wave, designed to stand out on a supermarket shelf.

C:\Users\mdvari\Desktop\FullSizeRender

Meeting George Spiliadis of Cava Siliadis

26 Feb 2015 | By Marisa D'Vari

We sampled five wines from the Cava Spiliadis Portfolio from the very best producers in Greece, beginning with the Amalia Brut NV sparkler from winemaker Giannis Tselpos, composed of 100% Moschofilero, an increasingly popular Greek Grape from the Peloponnese with vineyards at an altitude of 750 meters with mountainous sand clay soil. The wine was quite crisp and refreshing, with intense minerality and perfect for any occasion. That night they paired excellently with oysters.

Comments (1)

Questionable investments

Enjoy the Crowd Funded party, it may be short-lived

23 Feb 2015 | By Stephen Forward

I hate February with all my heart. And it’s not just because it’s that miserable time of year that I have my annual bath. Nor is it solely down to the fact that I have the charisma, predominantly, of an Ogre intent on spoiling a party.

More from Harpers.co.uk Bloggers

More Opinion

Sign in

Newsletter Sign-up

I wish to receive the following newsletters:

Subscriber only alerts:

MonTueWedThuFriSatSun
1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031
Twitter Facebook YouTube Linkedin