Subscriber login Close [x]
remember me
You are not logged in.

Olly Smith and Oz Clarke receive awards from APWI

Published:  02 March, 2012

Wine writers, Olly Smith and Oz Clarke are amongst those given awards by The Association of Portuguese Wine Importers (APWI) for their "outstanding contributions" to Portuguese Wine.

Olly Smith was named Portuguese Wine Journalist of the Year and Oz Clarke received the APWI award recognising his long-standing contributions to Portuguese wine in the UK.

The awards were given at its annual dinner, hosted by Portuguese Ambassador, Dr João de Vallera, at the Portuguese Embassy in London last night and a week after the Wines of Portugal Annual Tasting.

Wine writer, Charles Metcalfe was also invested with a special medal from the Portuguese government for his long-standing support and commitment to promoting Portuguese wines and foods abroad.

Other awards included:
Independent Retailer of the Year - Tanners Wine Merchants
National Retailer of the Year - Majestic Wines
Online / Mail order Retailer of the Year - The Wine Society
Restaurant of the Year - Nandos

Each recipient has shown great support for and commitment to growing Portuguese wine distribution throughout the UK, via education, communication and listings.