Subscriber login Close [x]
remember me
You are not logged in.

UKVA Award Winners

Published:  23 July, 2008

Best of English and Welsh

The United Kingdom Vineyards' Association has announced the winners of its English & Welsh Wine of the Year competition 2001. The Gore-Brown trophy for the best wine went to 1994 Nyetimber Aurora Cuve Blanc de Blancs. Other winners included: *Best wine of the previous year's vintage: 2000 Shawsgate Vineyard Bacchus; *Best wine of any other year's vintage: 1994 Nyetimber Aurora Cuve Blanc de Blancs; *Best sparkling wine: 1994 Nyetimber Aurora Cuve Blanc de Blancs; *Best oaked white wine: 1998 Valley Vineyards Fum; *Best wine produced in excess of 10,000 litres: 1999 Camel Valley Vineyard Cornwall Brut; * Best wine produced in smaller quantities: 1999 Sharpham Beenleigh Red; *Best red wine in the competition - 1999 Sharpham Beenleigh Red. The judges were: David Wrigley MW, Rosemary George MW, David Bird MW, wine writers Monty Waldin and Christine Austin, and Peter Cairns of wine merchant Cairns & Hickey. Two other trophies were awarded: the best presented bottle and label was judged by Harvey Nichols (Leeds) restaurant manager Simon Preston, who chose Denbies' 1999 The Limes Riesling. A new trophy, the McAlpine Winemaker of the Year, was won by Sandra Moss at Nyetimber. Certificates and trophies will be presented by the president of the UKVA, Lord Montagu of Beaulieu, at a ceremony to be held at the House of Lords in July.